Art and music have a greater contribution to society than science and math.

Do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that art and music contribute to human society more than science and math. Although the former is important in people’s life, I disagree with this statement for the following reasons.

The main reason why I oppose to the opinion that art and music are more instrumental than science and math is that they do not provide vital services for human life. This means people cannot obtain necessities, such as food and accommodation through art and music. They are often considered to be an entertainment in modern society, which offer enjoyment and happiness for individuals. Although these factors are playing an important role in life, art and music are less significant than science and math because people can live without them.

In contrast, science and math have a much more considerable contribution to society compare to art and music. This is because they produce a wide variety of essential items for human life. For example, science enables human beings to obtain sustenance steadily, while math is indispensable for car navigation, reducing traffic congestion and securing drivers’ convenience and safety. Moreover, science and math are contributing to maintaining and improving people’s health by revealing the mechanism of the function of human organs and developing various medication. If there were not science and math, people could not live a comfortable life.

To sum up, although art and music contribute to individuals’ life to some extent because it helps people mentally, I believe that they are far less important than science and math which are providing crucial services, enriching human life.