Art classes such as painting or drawing are important for children's development, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

Art subjects, such as painting, drawing, music, play a pivotal role in primary and secondary school since these courses offer certain benefit to pupils’ overall development. However, I believe that making art subjects compulsory provides high school students with nothing but drawbacks

Art education would be far too success without considering students’ interests and characters. Art subjects, such as painting, or drawing, are tailored to improve learners’ imagination and creativity. However, compulsory courses mean uniform norms, required assignments, and standard exams. In this situation, forced study would not be unusual, which might create undue pressure on students or even end up with weariness in study, particularly when an individual shows no interest in the course. Also, the knowledge and skills teenagers acquired from art courses previously, for example, in secondary school, could well meet the basic requirement in daily life. Without further demand or extra desire, what children get from compulsory courses is only a waste of time and effort, which should’ve been used more worthwhile, for example, to improve professional performance.

High school students not are only capable enough but also have the right to select courses themselves based on interest and planned career. During high school, teenagers have already been rather familiar with every subject. Based on this, they are capable to figure out what they like or talent in. Also, teenagers in this period are standing on a crucial intersection of life. To go college for further study, or to apply for a job, will decide their future direction. Thus, they should be given rights to skip certain coursed irrelevant according to the career plan. For example, if a student’s career goal is farm manager, to get involved in this field, soil management skills or social skills would be much valuable, rather than painting or drawing skills.

In conclusion, I highly support that high school should make art subjects selective, other than compulsory.