Because many children are not able to learn foreign languages, schools should not force them to learn foreign languages.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some feel that since it is challenging for children to learn a foreign language, schools should not emphasize this subject area. In my opinion, the challenge is the entire justification for supporting second language education.

Critics argue that the majority of children are simply incapable of learning an additional language. The best evidence for this is anecdotal and relates to the increasingly large burden of work placed on young children. Schools in many parts of the world, particularly in high-achieving nations such as South Korea and Japan, are in session for many hours and students learn an array of subjects. They are usually taught English, the world’s lingua franca, and this is especially difficult for speakers of Asian languages, where there is little shared linguistic history. The end result is often that students waste time and may feel discouraged and lack self-esteem.

However, children can learn languages better than adults and the challenge presented is itself an important lesson. If the schools have invested in proper training and use engaging materials then the lessons will not be boring and there is a stronger likelihood of success. Research has shown that language learning is most effective before the age of 7, with pronunciation becoming a stumbling block for older learners who already have fixed vocal formations. Moreover, the difficulty of learning a language encourages children to work harder and expand their ability to learn in creative ways. This applies to all subjects but languages stand out as students must seek novel memorization techniques and view the world from a completely different perspective.

In conclusion, despite the low rates of success in many cases, the impact of attempting to learn a language is itself tremendously beneficial. Schools should therefore continue funding this part of the curriculum.