The best way to reduce youth crimes is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

More and more teenagers are getting involved in wrong-doings, and the question whether developing better parenting skills is the most viable solution has become a topic of contention. Personally, I accept that parents’ impacts do matter, yet I strongly opine that other well-rounded measures are needed to address this problem.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that parents affect their children to a certain extent. Children spend the majority of their formative years with their parents and parents have a huge impact on developing their senses and behaviours. In fact, children tend to unconsciously imitate words and actions of parents on a daily routine. Therefore, it is important that parents should build up good attitudes and behaviours for themselves to become ideal role models for their kids. However, family time is likely to slice off due to the fact that children spend more time at school, with peers and state-of-the-art technology, while parents are usually busy keeping up with the pace of life, which lead to lack of care for children, education about crime and guide your child's actions and attitudes.

On the other hand, the government should adopt some alternatives to educate the minors and deter them from breaking the law. These days, children are susceptible to negative peer pressure. It is easy to obvious that more and more teenagers use stimulants such as alcohol, drugs or electronic cigarette, which is a primary contributor to increase juvenile delinquencies. In fact, robbery and theft are popular wrong-doing in the youngsters to satisfy their demand while they do not have the financial capacity. Therefore, imposing lessons of morality and penaties of illegal crime is a useful way to curb youth crime.

In conclusion, I believe training parental skills is not the best way to control the crime rate among the young. Government and schools also have to interfere at the same time to orientate law-abiding children’ behaviours.