The best way to resolve the international environmental
problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
International experts have proposed many solutions to tackle global environmental issues.
While raising fuel prices would be a useful measure to fight climate change, I disagree that it
would represent the best way to alleviate environmental problems.
National authorities should raise taxes on the cost of fuel. By adopting this policy,
governments would almost certainly ensure that people used their cars less. Fewer car journeys
would mean a reduction in exhaust emissions. This would have global consequences, slowing
the process of global warming as the quantity of greenhouse gases released into the
atmosphere was reduced. In terms of the depletion of natural resources, world supplies of
oil will not last forever, and by increasing petrol prices there would be less; dependence on
fossil fuels. Thus, I believe that international bodies should exert pressure on countries to
raise fuel prices.
However, I would argue that there are more effective ways to tackle international
environmental problems. Firstly, from the perspective of transport policy, introducing
restrictions on the use of private vehicles must be high on the government agenda in all
countries. For example, the congestion charge on vehicles in London has improved air
quality. Secondly, governments must allocate resources to the development of alternative
energy sources to power motor vehicles and machinery used in factory production. Finally,
as part of the wider effort to achieve sustainable development, international cooperation to
share scientific knowledge and advances in technology should be a top priority. This would
range across issues such as the exploitation of renewable energy, marine conservation and the
reclamation of agricultural land, halting the spread of deserts in places such as sub-Saharan
Africa.
In conclusion, although raising the cost of fuel would be a welcome measure, more effective
steps are required to deal with a wider range of global environmental tissues.