In the 21st century, contact between many different parts of the world has developed rapidly through air travel and telecommunications. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

We are living in the twenty-first century, the era of technological breakthrough. Two aspects that have significantly influenced on bridging the gaps among people are travelling by air and the telecommunication industry. While there are several detrimental effects on the aforementioned fields, I firmly hold the view that the benefits of this development are more significant.

On the one hand, some individuals approve that air travelling and commuting by phones, Internet and the same means may be a trigger for a plethora of social issues. One of the negative repercussions of this trend is the possibility of global warming caused by the excessive number of international flights. The experience is that most airplanes run on fossil fuels, which contain a myriad of deleterious substances, including CO2. This is considered to result in the rise in overall temperature worldwide. Hence, the more flights are taken, the higher the pace of global warming will be. With regard to the modern media of communication, the swindles on the Internet are likely to be attributable to the dramatic development of technology. To exemplify, a short film produced by Netflix named “Tinder swindlers” illustrates how Internet users be victimized in the credit cards and money fraud conducted by international cyber criminals. Once these incidents happen, not only do the victims suffer from financial loss but also a sense of resentment. The situation is even worse when hackers try to steal top-secret national information, which puts the relationships between countries at risk of crumbling. In other words, both individuals and the government can face up with the final outcomes.

On the other hand, I am in favor of the idea that the demerits of travelling by planes and telecommunication are eclipsed by the merits of technical advance for the civilization. Firstly, airline companies can offer a country with the boost of domestic and international tourism. As a matter of fact, before the advent of aircrafts, it posed a huge challenge to mankind, including potential risks and human labors. Nevertheless, with the availability of the fastest mode of transport, people can fly to any destination within a few hours. As a result, the more international trips are made, the more profit gained for tourism industry. When it comes to the groundbreaking advancement of telecommunication, one of the most advantageous aspects might be in the field of education. In fact, telecommunications can provide students whose desire is international education with opportunities to take an online course from the university overseas without leaving their home country. Take an example of Vietnamese students, a majority of them now can pursue a variety of degrees produced by prestigious universities from abroad thanks to the convenience of e-learning, which is an utmost important invention in telecommunication industry.

To sum up, it is undeniable that there are two schools of thought about how travelling by air and telecommunications affect the way we live our ordinary life. From my perspective, what we might lose due to this trend pales in comparison to what we have achieved and will continue to in the future.