Blockchain apply for coffee supply chain

It is true that consumers are demanding better pricing and are shopping globally. There is not only a pressure on the one manufacturers but it also affects the entire supply chain. The idea is to completely make the transition from B2B to B2C. Companies would like to own the relationship directly with their clients by having better margins and less dependent on the reseller channel. While consumer is looking for the answer of the flow of goods or services includes all processes that transform raw materials into final products. Enterprises have to think how to maximize customer value, how to meet their requirement with numerous of questions such as coffee family, type of seed, fertilizer used, famers name, or even actually fair trade.

There is action that enterprise could take to solve the problems described above. The new innovation technology can change human trade from physical world to digital world. This is the way of connecting coffee farmers to coffee drinkers. This could dramatically reduce time delays, added costs, connect and exchange all kind of value and societies. It’s not just economic revolution, but it also prevents company from acting uncertainty, unfairness, and even corruption. Blockchain is the key technology behind Bitcoin and a new network that helps decentralize trade and allows for more peer-to-peer transactions. Initially it was made for financial transactions but it is now revolutionizing the business world especially Supply Chain.

The problem for the giant coffee manufacturers like Starbucks, McDonald, and Highland that they are managing the numerous of different vendors across the supply chain. Each of vendors do not have the same database or infrastructure. It becomes extremely hard to see transparently product involve overtime. By using the coffee blockchain platform all of these stakeholders including farmer, traders, shippers and insurers interact by using the share database without trusting one another or even consumers have a right to access all entirety data of the supply chain. They can have a lot more chance transparency with digital certificates, tracking the chronological history of the coffee bean that coffee fabrication bought.

In completely a new way, Blockchain allows us to create an open global platform which store many kind of access from any source to any individual such as ownership, location, and contract or even personal identity information. This technological supply chain potential offer by blockchain in coffee production, distribution, marketing and commercial revolution processing from coffee planting, farm inspection, harvesting, certificate, insuring, shipping, warehousing, roasting, and brewing. More importantly blockchain technology using computers, instead of using the company like Uber or Amazon for making transaction but run by many different computer with same software to guarantee transaction. It keeps details such as the sender, the receiver and the amount of money

Trust - the most expensive thing in the world, it can take years to earn and just a matter of seconds to lose. Blockchain change the way we trust. It was designed to be decentralized and distributed across a large network of computers. It brings trusted research that will equip policy makers with the information they need to flourish in this new digital economy and improves efficiency of global supply chain. I believe that blockchain would be the next industrial revolution in the coffee supply chain.