Economic progress is often used to measure a country's success. However, some people believe that other factors are more important. What other factors should also be considered when measuring a country's success? Do you think one factor is more important than others?

Opinions are divided regarding the factors that make a country great. In my opinion, economic growth does not necessarily make a nation successful meaning that other factors namely education and health are equally important because they not only improve standards of living but also increase productivity. This essay will discuss how economic and social progress are both crucial for the development of a nation.

There is no doubt that access to education and health should be considered when measuring a country's success. This is because these elements often have a huge impact on standards of living and productivity. For instance, nations offering a high-quality educational system are likely to get a much more skilled workforce. As a result, individuals potentially get better jobs, earn higher salaries and become more productive. Also, investment in prevention and cures for diseases like vaccination and cancer treatment leads to a much healthier and consequently more active and productive society.

Furthermore, financial growth and human development are equally important and they rely on each other to make a country great. Although the production of goods and services is necessary to generate wealth and employment, it is also crucial to consider how much of that money is invested in society in a way that makes people more literate, healthier and productive. For example, developed countries such as Sweden and Norway show reasonable levels of gross domestic product (GDP) but in addition to that Governments invest huge amounts of money on medical assistance and free primary and secondary education. As a result, they are considered rich nations offering good quality of life to its citizens and showing high levels of productivity.

In summary, I think that a country cannot be considered successful just by its financial progress. On the contrary, other factors namely access to education and health are also vital to become a nation powerful.