child labour

Child labor has become one of the concerning issues for many governments all over the world. Some experts have recommended that this might be a great opportunity to gain knowledge and skills for adult life. However, for ethical and children development reasons, the drawbacks far outweigh the benefits.

To begin with, the employment of children could have some ethical problems. In spite of receiving some funds for working, children are exploited in some countries. As children are often used in agriculture and factory, they do repetitive jobs for very low pay on full-time basis. A good example of this situation is Nike, which has been accused for using children for its soccer ball production, although both the US and Pakistan establish and police legislation against child labor. Another widely known child exploitation is India, who has also become the world capital of child labor over last decade.

Next, the development of children could be influence negatively. From social development aspect, children, who suffer exploitation, do not spend much time with other their age or with family members. As a consequence, this results in insecure adult and other emotional problems, including depression and stress. With regard to physical effects, these children are at higher risk for developmental delays due to dangerous working conditions and from taking on physical tasks, which exceed their capacities. For example, they are exposed to harmful chemicals, leading to other serious health and mental illnesses later in their lives.

To conclusion, immorality and severe health problem for the young generations are two major drawback of child labor. It is strongly recommended that governments should either prohibit the employment of children or police their laws effectively.