Children are facing more pressures nowadays from academic, social and commercial perspectives. What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce these pressures?

The pressures from academic, social and commercial perspectives have become a huge challenge for children nowadays. There are a variety of possible reasons for this, but steps can definitely be taken to tackle the problem.

Firstly, children’s school pressure results from their family. Parental expectations for their children’s success in the future force them to study too much even at a very young age to get the best academic results. Secondly, negative influences from children’s peers could result in their social pressure. It might be stressful and uncomfortable for teenagers to follow others’ wants such as smoking or cheating on tests in terms of pleasing them or avoiding being isolated. Finally, children are under a variety of commercial pressures because they are the main target of many companies’ advertising and marketing campaigns. Young children can be easily attracted by advertisements about food, toys and clothes on TV or magazines and may feel stressed in terms of purchasing these products.

To address the academic pressure on children, parents should support their children’s learning process by encouraging and comforting rather than demanding for their best outcomes. For teenagers’ peer pressure, school and family need to take responsibility for building young people’s self-esteem. It could help them to be aware of their own value and do not feel the need to adapt their view and behaviour to meet the expectations of others. Lastly, the authorities should introduce laws to limit the adverts that are targeting children. Parents could also play a vital role in cutting the effect of commercial pressure on their children by restrict their TV-watching hours.

In conclusion, parents’ expectations, peers’ negative effects and advertising campaigns are among the primary reasons for the rise in heavy pressures on children these days, and the problems could be solved by a variety of measures from parents, schools and the authorities.