Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern era of information and technology, the invention of computers is believed to be a vital factor in changing the world. I am firmly convinced by this idea as they provide the most significant contributions and improve living standards of human beings.

The invention of the internet has brought life-changing effects to the world. To be more specific, the internet provides users with social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter and currently, TikTok, which help them widen their relationship network and update the latest news depending on their hobby. Moreover, people receive more opportunities to learn new skills through websites such as Coursera or edX, and more chances to find appropriate jobs through recruitment websites such as Linkedln. Finally, people can easily meet their daily entertainment needs as the internet is an ideal large source where they can watch movies or play games. It can be seen that the computer has brought significant convenience advancing the living standards of many people.

The second opinion I would like to mention is that the creation of artificial intelligence (AI) notably supports scientists and companies in various areas. For example, currently, robots are able to serve as waiters, dentists or factory workers with ten folded productivity than humans. In the future, robots programmed by AI are expected to alter humans to deal with dangerous jobs such as firefighter or ocean explorer, which can reduce the life risk for human. However, the overuse of AI may worsen unemployability as millions of people are altered by robots who can create more productivity than them without paying salary and taking rest.

In conclusion, it is reasonable to say the computer is one of the greatest inventions in the history of mankind, and we need to make use of this innovation wisely in order to make our lives better.