Write about the following topic:

Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Untitled document

Last edit was 1 day, 19 hours ago

339 Words

M

You

Last Updated: 0 minutes ago

In terms of science and technology, the last century is considered the golden era of technological invention. It is argued by most modern people that the computer is the most significant invention of the last century. I completely agree with this opinion. I will explain the reasons in the following paragraphs to justify my viewpoint.

In the last ten decades, the world observed multiple technological breakthroughs that changed peoples working procedures, job sector, education and every aspect of life. Amon them, the computer is considered the father of all inventions. Myriad reasons can be highlighted to depict the significance of computers over others. Firstly, computers changed the mathematical calculation system to a tremendously faster way, which helped to operate numerous practical functions in our daily life very easily and efficiently. The coding and machine language which is the basis of computer operation, made the big data analysis and storage simpler. Internet-based online communication systems could be implemented due to the availability of the computer. Computers made use of algorithm in creating multiple creative ideas like video platforms, video editing, emailing, writing and so on. Moreover, computers made space traveling possible which could not be done before. Nowadays, there is no need for paper for writing and sending letters to someone living in a distant place. It is possible to write on a computer and send a message or letter instantly to anyone at any time. Besides, online audio and visual communication system were possible to make because of computers. In general, the computer made our life easier compared to the period when the computer was not available. For example, we can now study at home without even any physical paper book. We can do all the office work and keeps all the data stored in a secure place in a computer folder. This made life lot easier.

To sum up, the world has changed very rapidly since the computer was invented. This change is going on even faster beyond our imagination, where the computer is playing a central role.