Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There have been debates about whether computers are the most impactful invention in the last few decades. Personally, I strongly agree with this view.

Firstly, computers serve as a bridge for us to connect to the outer world. People can now easily access the information for almost anything, whether it is art, music, books or footage of historical events. In the past, in order to gather information about a specific topic, the sole way was through a library and hopelessly searched through endless piles of books, and it could be quite stressful at times. However, in the digital age, it is as simple as typing a keyword into an online encyclopedia like Wikipedia. Computers have solved the problem of preserving, organizing and sharing pieces of historical and cultural beauty.

Secondly, computers have been revolutionizing many aspects of the world. We can all agree that the first Industrial Revolution changed our lives forever, and so did the third, and the upcoming fourth Industrial Revolution. Those machines, with complete precision and the ability to work days after days, months after months, can be intergrated in various fields. Computers appear in every part of the process, whether it is quality control, controlling the mass production queue, logistics, sales and even customer care. The importance of computers gave birth to a new job called programmers and eventually the technology industry, which demand a large number of high-skilled workers and has no sign of decreasing. In short, all people can greatly benefit from the development of computers.

In conclusion, computers have completely changed our lives for the better, and people should be more open-minded to accept such technological advances.