Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There are different arguments about which invention is an essential in the last ten decades. While I believe that computers are the most important creation in that particular period, I agree that some other creations are such as antibiotics also one of the greatest productions.

On the one hand, we have many reasons why computers are vital innovations. Firstly, we can hold a number of articles, books and images by using computers. In other words, in past days we preserve the books in cupboards so it leads to occupy more space in our home. However, this thin computer - hardly 800 grams- holds a plethora of information. Secondly, after the formation of computers, we were invented more things on computers such as the world wide web and the internet. And these are the basic need for people in recent years because if we have any doubts about any subject, we could browse the information through the internet. Last but not least, computers turn a part in our daily life as every organization, public or private, used to work on the computer. For instance, a recent study by Queens University found that regularly using computers or laptops has increased rates by 40%.

On the other hand, there is another new important innovation situated in the last hundred years such as antibiotics. In the ancient era, we treated illnesses by using Ayurveda; however, now we treat illness by using various types of antibiotics, according to microorganisms, which are the cause of the particular infection. Now in this contemporary world diseases also have been increasing compared to past days and also turned into life-threatening. For example, AIDS is a dangerous virus and there is no particular therapy for the illness. The immune system is damaged in this disease and they may get any infections, so doctors survive the patients by giving antibiotics.

In conclusion, although I believe computers are an essential innovation in the last ten decades, I agree antibiotics also a vital production at the same time and it saves many lives on earth.