Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the era of cutting edge technology, portable devices have played a significant role in human life, serving for a wide range of purposes. Yet there are several arguments related to its role that computers are the most significant invention in human civilization. From my perspective, I contend that this invention brings more benefits than drawbacks.

One major ground behind the reason why computer invention is the most important event in human history is that computers improve the quality of life as well as enhance work productivity for humans. In the past, before the appearance of computers, humans had to do manual labor in every aspect of areas. Hence, they had to follow rigid traditional methods to manufacture, leading to easily making mistakes during production lines. As a result, this might reduce both the quality and quantity of products. In contrast, today, thanks to the support of advanced computers, after learning comprehensively about the way to operate those, humans can easily proceed with mass production with a high degree of precision as well as allowing them to work remotely. Therefore, they will have a whale of a time to indulge in leisure pursuits, enhancing the standard of their whole life. For example, today, Gen Z often work at home and hold regular online meetings remotely to have discussions with their colleagues while going to business. This approach allows them to continue working as timelines and schedules.

In addition, computers are also a powerful means of acquiring more knowledge. With a computer and the Internet, people are likely to get instant access to the wealth of information in various fields at their fingertips. To give an example, although graduating from Marketing university, students can also learn more about Data Analysis or Sales through extra courses which are served on websites on the Internet, such as Coursera and Highbrows. Therefore, they might broaden their horizons and reinforce their self-study skills.

In conclusion, I hold a strong belief that computers are the greatest invention throughout history. They do many wonders for human life in terms of working and gaining knowledge. However, they also have several detrimental impacts on human life, thus the government should educate people to use them wisely.