Computers are often argued to be the most important invention in the last one hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the last century, there have been numerous crucial inventions that contribute to the development of the world. Among those, many people argue that computers are probably the most important one. In my opinion, this argument is likely to be accurate and I will give my explanations for it in this essay.

To start with, computers are necessary for a wide range of work. For instance, they are used to carry out complicated calculations in the field of accounting, or to help designers to draw and store their sketches. Furthermore, in the future, it is expected that a variety of tasks, which seem to be difficult for humans to do, can be completed entirely by computers. As computers play a significant role in many humans' jobs, they can be considered an essential gadget.

In addition, since computers were invented, they have been consistently improved over the time. While the first computer, which had the size of a large room, could only accomplish a limited number of tasks, computers these days are relatively compact and capable of performing many sophisticated functions. Moreover, the prices of them have been made so affordable that most families nowadays could purchase at least one computer. This astounding development of computers indicates that the applications of them could be far more expanded.

All in all, it can be seen that computers can assist humans in a tremendous number of professions. Additionally, their accessibility to people means that a large percentage of people could benefit from them. Thus, it can be argued that computers are the most important invention made in the last 100 years.