Consumer goods have become the most important part of human lives. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Consumerism is a social and economic ideology that encourages people to acquire more products and services in an ever increasing amount. One of the most pressing concern is regarding the given topic asserts that are the consumer goods have more merits than the demerits. In this essay, I am going to examine this questions from both points of view.

On one side of the argument there are people who argue that benefits of considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is the increase in economic growth. Apart from this, the demands of people are increasing day by day as well as the new industries are buliding for fulfil the demands of people that is why it is greatly effect the economic growth of the country. In addition, with the increase in industries; it also increases the employment in the country. Moreover, these products are reliable and easier to use so people want to buy these things and they also acquire knowledge from newly formed products. A survey is conducted by the Hindustan Times where the 60 out of 100 percent economic level increased due to consumer goods.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that infact there are some disadvantages. People often have this opinion because there are some consumer goods which can also affect our health; it can also spoil the whole life. Furthermore, people faces so many problems from these goods because there are some fake products available in the market. A good illustration of this is mobile phone. When the people use a lot of time on mobile phone they can spread from some diseases because there are number of harmful radiations released from cell phone.

As, we have seen that there are number of answers to this question. On balance, however; I tend to believe that earth can satisfy everybody need but not everybody greed. So, they should buy limited number of goods.