Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies.
To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements?
These days, due to a highly competitive commercial market, people are exposed to an ever increasing
amount of advertising. I believe that people are highly susceptible to modern day advertising and
marketing techniques, and that certain actions need to be taken to ensure the wellbeing of consumers.
Advertising has become a multibillion dollar industry, and much research has gone into its development
and effectiveness in order to help businesses sell more products and services. And although advertising
can provide many benefits to the consumer, it can also have quite a negative impact on individuals and
society as a whole. One of the negative effects advertising can have is that it can lead people to buy
things that they don’t actually need or even necessarily want. Advertising techniques can make us feel
as though we really need to have something and this can cause people to make impulsive purchases,
which they may not have made if they had made a more thorough decision.
Furthermore, in societies where advertising laws are more relaxed, people are faced with large amounts
of advertising containing many subliminal messages and explicit content. For instance, it is well known in
the advertising industry that sex sells. Creating sexual themes within advertisements can influence
people’s thoughts about not only the product but ideas associated around it. This can have many
negative influences on the minds of people, and in particular children, potentially forming certain
negative beliefs and ideas about such topics.
In conclusion, for these, and many other reasons, I believe that Governments and other organisations
need to monitor how companies are promoting their products and services in order to protect innocent