The consumption of the world’s resources (oil, and water etc.) is increasing at a dangerous rate. What are causes and solutions?

It is true that global natural resources such as oil and water are being depleted at an alarming rate. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and several solutions should be adopted to solve the problem.

There are two primary reasons why the world’s natural resources are being over-exploited. Firstly, developing countries are heavily dependent on natural resources to drive their economy, especially in transportation and energy fields. As their citizen is getting wealthier, the demand for their consumption of natural resources is increasing to the level of demand in developed countries, in term of gas for cars and electric for bigger homes and offices. Secondly, it is easier to use natural resources rather than spending money to develop and convert sustainable alternatives, like solar and wind energy. Politicians fear to risk unpopularity by raising energy prices to fund such developments.

Some measures should be taken to mitigate the problem of overconsumption of these resources. The first measure is that government must impose a higher tax on the use of depletable resources to reduce the demand. By raising tax, people’s pockets are affected directly, thus, they will use these resources more responsibly. For example, water meter should be installed in homes and workplaces. Another essential measure is to develop and introduce renewable sources like solar and wind energy as alternatives. These clean energies not only minimize human reliance on the Earth’s natural resources but also help protect environment. Furthermore, individuals must be educated to use viral resources sparingly and wisely. Even simple things like not leaving tap running and leaving lights switched on unnecessarily can all help reduce consumption.

In conclusion, the overuse of the world’s resources is a big problem for all countries and solution must be implemented urgently to tackle this issue.