The continued rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time.

What are the causes of this continued rise?

Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

It is often argued that the global population overgrowth is the largest issue that is threatening our human race on Earth these days. In my opinion, this phenomenon seems to stem from two main causes, but I do not agree that this is the most dangerous problem faced by the 21st-century generation.

Perhaps, the major cause of this rising problem is the lack of birth controlled programs in many parts of the under-developed world. As a result, each household often gives birth to many kids, which can seriously lead to greater burdens on bread-winners. More severely, the young generations of those families might suffer from hunger due to the lack of food or be put out of school. Another possible factor causing population growth disaster is the finance of wealthier homes in developed nations. Due to the abundance of financial resource, these rich parents are apt to have more kids, which in turn create more pressure for the rising number of mankind.

Although overpopulation is a huge problem, I believe that there are more detrimental issues that humanity has to tackle. It is obvious that trash can be easily found in many public places such as squares or sidewalks. This possibly poses grave threats to the life of many citizens. A place with too much garbage is sometimes home for reservoirs (animals that carry deadly diseases such as rats or mosquitoes). These animals are the cause of outbreaks of severe ailments, which directly affect people’s lives, and dangerously lead to death. The reduction of natural resources is also a challenge that people have to face up with. For instance, oil has been exploited for many dozens of decades and the decrease of this vital natural fuel will feasibly malfunction all aspects of society until finding out alternative resources.

To sum up, even though the overgrowth of mankind is threatening our existence on Earth, it seems to me that there are a range of other equally important matters that need to be taken into consideration.