The continued rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time.

What are the causes of this continued rise?

Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

In contemporary settings, the worldwide population is continuously increasing at an alarming rate. Many citizens express their concerns and regard this as the most serious problem in human society. The following essay will discuss some causes of this growth and explain why I concur that it is currently the greatest problem in the world.

To commence, a rise in the global population may be attributed to improved healthcare services. Thanks to the latest advances in technology, numerous smart techniques and cutting-edge machines are now applied to cure diseases, thereby prolonging life expectancy of citizens. In other words, there are more and more seniors in society, along with the fact that more and more infants are born on a daily basis. As a result, when the mortality rate is lower than the birth rate, the population keeps rising and becomes a social problem perplexing humans.

Furthermore, it is irrefutable that overpopulation is the most severe issue that humans have to confront at the present time. Initially, this problem engenders a rise in the joblessness rate. Since people live longer, their retirement age is delayed, youngsters have to compete to get a foot in the door of the housing market or gain employment.

Moreover, the growing population gives rise to food shortages on a large scale. Owing to the inability to meet the demand of all consumers in the manufacturing process, food sources will not be accessible to every part of the world, particularly to remote areas. Consequently, a huge citizen count will have to suffer from famine.

In summary, improvements in the healthcare system have led to the phenomenon of overpopulation, which is undoubtedly the greatest challenge faced by humanity these days. Therefore, with a view to guaranteeing the holistic development of society, governments around the world should incorporate and impose a number of policies to tackle this situation.