The cost of living is higher in many countries. What are the effects of higher prices to individuals and society? What is the best way for people to deal with this problem?

These day, unprecedentedly exorbitant cost of living becomes a profoundly concerned issue which may have detrimental influences on the needy as well as societies. From my personal perspective, launching welfare subsidies would be the most viable measure to address repercussion brought about by high living cost.

On individual level, the most serious drawback of aforementioned problem is devastating impacts on the decent life of people living below the poverty line. When the increases in salary level are negligible compare to increasing in living cost, impoverished people can not afford essential things such as food, medicine and so on resulting in the rise in the number of people who are malnourished or having diseases. Moreover, high cost of living can lead to the growth of discrimination between the rich and the poor. Since underprivileged people can not make ends meet, they are not able to access to higher education which enable them have respect from the others. This can cause the unfair treatment with the poor.

On social level, rising living cost can make societies unstable. Indeed, since people do not have enough money to recover their lives, they can be led to the guilty path which help them improving their poor circumstances. In addition, the significant percentage of crime and poor people also create financial burden for governments. For example, when there are robberies, governments have to spend money to investigate and to overcome consequences.

People should have appropriate actions to cope with multifaceted problems. The best way to mitigate this problem is starting a welfare scheme to financially support the poor. The state and benefactors should provide money for basic needs and tuition fee for impoverished people. In this way, this problem can not put pressure in people’s consumption budget so people will have a better lives and education.

In summary, high cost of living can cause negative effects on both societies and individual, however, there are many proposal for this issue