An increasing number of people choose to live in big cities. What problems will this bring about? Should the government encourage people to live in small towns?

These days, the unprecedented growth in the number of people who prefer living in metropolitan cities becomes a profoundly concerned issue which can have devastating influences on residents as well as societies. From my perspective, I firmly advocate the idea that authority should urge people to live in rural areas in order to diminish the population in big cities.

Multifaceted problem can cause a lot of serious consequences. To begin with, significant percentage of people who migrate to urban area can lead to the burden of welfare system. Indeed, the state can not provide enough accommodations, food and charitable subsidies for the poor if the population dramatically increases. This can make people have difficulties in making end meets. Moreover, the problem of overpopulation also exacerbate air pollutions in major cities. For example, since more and more people crowd into metropolises, there is a large number of vehicles commuting in these areas. Consequently, people can not put a curb on the level of emission which can have detrimental impacts on people’s respiratory system.

In my view point, I strongly concede that motivating citizens to move to small towns is a initiative. First and foremost, such idea can deter urban areas from lacking of facilities and job vacancies. For instance, since there are less people compete to find a job, residents will have more opportunities to promote their careers which enable them to have decent lives. As a result, the rate of unemployed and impoverished people can noticeably decrease. In addition, encouraging people to live in rural areas is one of measures to protect resident’s health. In fact, by moving people out metropolises, the toxic gases that daily discharged from means of transport can be reduced, therefore, citizen’s resistance can be enhanced.

In summary, there are ample demerits of overcrowding in major cities, thus urban - to – rural migration should be promoted by the state