Countries are becoming more and more sim ilar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With rapid development of internet technology and logistics, the interactions among many countries have become more and more frequent than before. Benefiting from the trend of globalization, many products have been available for people to purchase anywhere in the world. A prevailing view held by many people is that this trend is a negative development since countries are becoming similar, while I strongly disagree with them.

It’s not plausible that countries will lose their own traits and get similar as the same products are bought by their people. Although there might be plenty of similar products in the country, I believe each country can still retain their own cultures and traits, since these are largely determined by the citizens’ lifestyle and behaviors from the past.

Globalization certainly is a positive development for every nation in many aspects. To be more specific, as the sources of revenue for many business companies are now not only local people but worldwide, their income would experience a significant rise. Meanwile, growing number of transactions with the rest of world will entail a strong growth in domestic economy, leading to a better life of local people. Moreover, global transactions will be instrumental for people to learn about different cultures from the rest of world. The effective communications with other cultures will help people obtain a completely difference understanding of their own culture, which can’t be achieved without globalization. As a consequence, the local culture can abandon what’s harmful in it and absorb good ideas.

In a conclusion, people always concern that interactions with other culture might have some detrimental effects on their own country. However, in fact, it’s the opposite. Globalization helps not only the development of culture but also the economy, bringing people a huge amount of benefits.