Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is possible to see similar products in every part of the world. Some claim that this happens due to the fact that nations are increasingly identical to each other. It is a debatable issue whether such a trend is positive or negative for the following reasons.

On the one hand, easily accessible products improve customers’ experience. People do not need to travel far just to purchase a single piece of merchandise. For example, Vietnamese foods are widely traded in American markets, which allows Vietnamese who work or study away from home to buy their hometown specialty without waiting for the products to ship or needing to travel back to their home countries. Furthermore, when Vietnamese specialty appears in America, US citizens can also taste to get a glimpse of the culture or cuisine of Vietnam. Therefore, the trend mentioned above is a positive development that improves both the economic and cultural bonds between nations.

On the other hand, since products are being replicated, the quality may not remain the same as it used to be. Some special products or merchandise, such as specialty, are something that is hard to reproduce while trying to maintain the original flavor. For example, it is not difficult to find pizza with several creative flavors around the world, but it is certainly not easy to find the original flavor in other places rather than in Italy. Hence, certain products reflect the long-term traditions and culture of the country. Therefore, it is important to retain its originality to keep its uniqueness. Because of this reason, the trend may be regarded as a threaten towards culture and history.

In sum, the discussed issue demonstrates both negative and positive sides. However, in my point of view, positive arguments have more weight, and it is vital to exploit these advantages while also preventing the disadvantages of such a trend.