Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is argued that these days, every nation is becoming much more the same as a result of people can purchase the same goods from anywhere they want. Although it will have some drawbacks, I believe that this development brings more positive results.

On the one hand, there are some disadvantages to the argument that some countries are now less different from others since people can buy merchandise all around the world. Firstly, it costs citizens millions of dollars when they get what they want that does not exist in their country and harms the environment as well. Taking goods from another nation will require people to spend money on either travelling to that nation or delivering from that nation by trains, aeroplanes, etcetera which will release carbon dioxide as using too much fossil fuels. Secondly, when a nation becomes more and more similar to another one, it leads to the emergence of a new issue which is the disappearance of a culture, as residents cannot remember what makes the difference of that country.

On the other hand, I assert that the consequences of this hot issue are positive developments. First and foremost, it allows consumers to have various choices for any kind of product which can satisfy their needs. For example, a girl who is considering buying cosmetics can think of a local brand, like M.O.I, or some global brands, such as Dior and 3CE. Apart from this, people who would like to move to another country to start a new life can get used to that strange region as fast as possible because they can feel the familiar atmosphere of their home country. To illustrate, in the USA, there are some regions where several Vietnamese families live called Vietnamese communities which will let the newcomer feel peace of mind due to having numerous relatives to live with.

In summary, personally, I state that it is not bad for countries to become more similar to other ones due to the ability to purchase the same goods from any region in the world. Each country will have its uniqueness which will allow it to be differentiated from any country in the world.