Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent times, the resemblance between nations has evolved into a burgeoning trend because citizens are able to purchase commodities from global brands. Although this tendency is detrimental at some points, I am of the opinion that it also has a large number of merits and hence is a positive development.

On the one hand, an increasing similarity between countries brings several inevitable drawbacks. The most adverse downside is the breakup of small companies. To be more specific, when well-known brands from foreign countries are sold in a national market, those firms of the host nation can be confronted with intense pressure. By way of illustration, products from major brands may be preferred over those from small businesses due to their decent quality and reasonable prices. As a result, those companies can not compete, leading to their failure, bankrupt even. Besides, this trend can make a national culture’s eclipse if unique commodities of a country, such as traditional cuisines and clothing, can appear anywhere in the world, and thus, people can not feel their only and special attribute that is the symbol of this nation.

On the other hand, there are enormous positive effects of this tendency on the whole community. The first one is cultural integration, when citizens can have access to any foreign product. Therefore, they may learn more about other countries' cultures in order to broaden their horizons. Another benefit worth mentioning is that those people can try foreign commodities at affordable prices without going abroad to buy them directly. As a result, they can save money on travel fees or rental fees, as well as travel time. For instance, my friends and I ate wontons at a Chinese restaurant in Vietnam that is vastly appreciative of culinary Vietnamese bloggers. We only pay 50.000 dong to enjoy a bowl of wonton, which is far cheaper than if we had to visit China and try eating it.

All in all, even though a growing resemblance between countries has some drawbacks, I espouse the notion that this development is largely positive due to the cultural exchange and financial benefits.