Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the advancement of commerce and trade, nowadays people can buy any product they like,even from a different country. This results in countries being less different from one another. While this can lead to increasing harmony among different nations, this essay however believes it to be a negative development because it will end up in loss of cultural diversity.

It is thought by some that increase in similarity between countries, due to use of same products like clothes, footwear and food can strengthen the bond between different societies because people will get to know the different specialities of a foreign culture and respect it. For instance, Despite a rivalry between Ireland and Britain, people of both the countries have respectful relations because of similar clothing and cuisines. It is this reason why few consider it a positive thing but this essay believes otherwise because it is in the favour of society to stick to its cultural heritage.

By imitating other societies, there is always a threat to a country’s own centuries old heritage because its survival primarily depend on its acceptance among people. If it is not adapted and instead another country’s norms are followed in wearing and cuisines, it will result in loss of diversity among nations. This is exemplified by a change in clothing trend in Bali where people shifted from their traditional wear to western clothes, because of foreign clothing outlets there. New generation doesn’t have a clue about the traditional clothing.

In conclusion, by purchasing of similar items by people in different countries,they are becoming alike which although can somehow increase the bond of respect between nations, this essay doesn’t consider it to be positive development because it will damage cultures.