The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advances in technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that when drawing an analogy with the past, the crime rate is significantly decreased thanks to the advances in technology. From my own perspective, I partly agree with this notion as technology also follows new type of laws infraction.

On the one hand, due to tremendous development in technology, there has been an upsurge in the number of cybercrime cases. In recent days, criminals have increasingly utilized Internet as its anonymity facilitates surreptitiously illegal transaction and they stand lower chances of getting caught by the police. Furthermore, stealing personal information is exacerbated since the advent of high-tech given that more individuals store their private data in devices such as phone or laptop. With just one indiscriminate click into strange link, people’ computers are prone to vicious viruses that are capable of deriving information from the memory. According to statistic collected in 2020, there was nearly 4.1 million reported cases of identity theft.

On the other hand, it is irrefutable that technology is one of the most efficacious tools in combating legislation infringement. Firstly, advances in camera, face identity software and the like have allowed army forces to identify offender within small amount of time. For example, detective officers use programs in computer to analyze fingerprints taken in crime scene or deriving video from nearby neighbor to assist solving procedure. Secondly, the appearance of high-end devices can deter people from committing crimes due to the fear of being arrested. Hence, the number of law-breaking cases, especially burglars, will plummet.

In conclusion, notwithstanding appearance of cybercrime, the crucial role of technology in reducing crime is undeniable.