Crime rates will fall as advances in technology make it easier to detect and prevent crimes.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The emergency of crime volume requires immediate intervention from the law enforcement and technology applications are regarded as an effective measure to diminish criminality. Personally, I completely agree that innovation could contribute tremendously to crime prevention in general.

On the one hand, critics may assert that criminality is the result of hereditary traits or inevitable environmental factors and the growing crime proportion will perpetuate at a certain degree. In terms of those whose parents have committed crimes in the past or pose certain aggressive characteristics, there is a likelihood that they could inherit partially an individuality of impulse or violence. Hence, as the preconception and cognition system of children in formative years is unable to draw a clear distinction of good and bad, while growing in such conditions, they would blindly duplicate the wrongdoings of the adults. Consequently, there will be an increasing number of juvenile delinquencies.

On the other hand, I contend that the aforementioned issue could be surmounted as technology is able to outperform the conventional crime prevention methods with applications in a larger context. For one, the installation of camera systems in several countries has emphasized its efficiency when penetrating every single corner of the streets. The execution of this setting has delivered tangible results given the majority of the crime incidents often occur under squalid conditions or even in the residential areas. Drugs dealers, for instance, have been caught with numerous cases under the supervision of undercover cameras. Furthermore, with cutting-edge gadgets, federal agencies are now available to track suspects movement of the offenders in tandem with minimizing the potential crime zone, which will support the process of investigation substantially.

To conclude, innovation could facilitate law enforcement in the endeavor to curb the spread of crime. Yet, governments should adopt technology in accordance with the privacy of citizens for the sake of the society as a whole.