The cultures of many countries around the world become more similar than they used to be. What are reasons for this trend ? Is it positive of negative ?

Stepping into the 21st century, it is a phenomenon that the Earth is becoming a global city that has cultural similarities. As far as I know, below are a couple of reasons in my school of thought, followed by its influences.

The first fact to note is that globalization is perceived as the main reason. Nowadays, culture exchange has been promoted in every walk of life. Under the facade of trading activities such as importing media products or student exchange programs, the invasion of cultures has become a habit among each local individual.

Another reason that should be taken into account is the spread of the internet. For instance, with the mushrooming development of networking and online platforms, netizens have a tendency to do similar behavior because of trendy or the same information resources. As a result, teenagers have been promoted silently as the information available in cyberspace presents norms that are derived from around the world.

Some might argue that this tendency brings advantages into modernized life. They believe that it eliminates the cultural barriers, helping people from different backgrounds to have a mutual understanding. This justification is true to some extent; however, its argument is based on one-side thought because cultural diversity declined. Each country has characterized by its distinguishing cultural values, local norms, non-verbal traditions. Meanwhile, people should protect and conserve their own regional identities, long-established customs.

To sum up, taking into consideration all of the above-mentioned facts, it is obvious that cultural similarity is becoming too complicated to solve immediately. Despite some benefits, people should pay attention to its negative effects on our society.