Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally-friendly mode of transport. However, it is no longer the main form of transport. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

In many parts of the world, cycling is a mode of transportation utilized by people because of its desirable impact on health and environment. However, it is not as popular as before. In this essay, reasons behind this phenomenon will be discussed, followed by appropriate solutions to promote a wider use of cycling for commuting.

Firstly, it is noteworthy that the fast pace of life is widely perceived as the main reason. nowadays, modern life is getting much busier than in the past, individuals nowadays want to spend as little time on transport as possible. Therefore, they prefer to use other vehicles, such as motorbikes or cars, which would take less time.

Secondly, another factor that should be taken into account is the fact that there are some psychological

factors that deter bike commuting. Indeed, cycling on busy streets can involve high risks, especially for inexperienced cyclists. Without dedicated facilities, unpleasant weather conditions and lack of parking places could be real concerns for many who consider cycling as a mode of

transport. Several actions can be taken to increase the popularity of bicycles. The first solution would be to make it more costly to own a motorbike or a car. To be specific, the government should increase the price of petrol or raise the tax on these vehicles. As a result, more people would choose bicycles as their primary means of transport. Additionally, more lanes should be built to serve only cyclists, which would make it much faster to travel with bicycles. The final solution is to launch campaigns to raise citizens’ awareness of the harmful effects of motorbikes and cars on the environment, encouraging people to cycle more often.

In conclusion, there are some reasons why bicycles are becoming less common in today’s world, and solutions should be produced early to promote this environmentally friendly means of transport as mentioned above.