Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same roads causes some problems. What are the problems and what can be done to reduce them?

It is true that in many parts of the world, people who ride bicycles and those driving cars using she same road. While there are numerous problems associated with the sharing of road among cyclists and motorists, some measures could be implemented so improve the situation.

There are two major problem arising from using one road for both car drivers and bikers. Firstly, it is the likelihood of traffic collision. Such accidents frequently result in severe injuries, particularly to cyclists who are prone to be vulnerable, even when wearing a helmet for protection. The truth is that there is almost no law regarding the maximum speed of the bicyclists. For this reason, if they do not slow down, they might face with accidents. Secondly, rush hour traffic jams are unavoidable, as some road users may not abide by the regulations. For example, it is observed that in Vietnam, people using motorcycle often encroach on cars’ lane or ignore the traffic light without being punished.

However, several feasible solutions could be suggested to solve the issues mentioned above. First of all, proper division on lane and clever separation could bring about promising outcomes. Besides, some national and local authorities have prioritized expenditure on road safety. They have invested in the infrastructure by upgrading and expanding public transport provision and constructing dedicated cycle lanes on busy roads. Finally, some restriction on car drivers could be introduced. For example, imposing a congestion charge would be an effective measure to discourage motorists from entering the centre.

In conclusion, the problems resulting from sharing the same road among bicyclists and car drivers seem inevitable in today’s society; however they could be mitigated by several solutions.