Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same roads causes some problems. What are the problems and what can be done to reduce them?

It is true that cyclists and motorists are being caught in severe problems when occupying the same roads. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this issue, societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems.

The main issue behind this phenomenon is the possibility of perilous road accidents. The delusional awareness of priority from both cyclists and drivers is also adding to the actualization of this issue. To be more specific, when drivers have a right of the road, they usually press the horn repetitiously and heavily to signal cyclists in such short distances when they are in need of overtaking, making cyclists unprepared to adjust their direction. As a result, this leads to devastatingly injuries for cyclists who are particularly vulnerable even wearing a helmet. On the other hand, cyclists also need to be responsible for causing accidents in some cases. Particularly, cyclists reap more benefits in commuting as bicycles do not take much room on roads. Therefore, some cyclists do not abide by street laws and attempt to take over the car lane without much protection like motorists.

Fortunately, several policies have been found. Firstly, governments have prioritized expenditure on road safety by placing a huge investment in road infrastructures to completely upgrade and expand public transport provision and construct dedicated cycle lanes on busy roads. Secondly, authorities should introduce strict restrictions such as congestion charges for both cyclists and motorists to ease the traffic flow when the cities are full of traffic. Besides, traffic calming and speed cameras also do wonders to ensure safety on roads.

To sum up, varied reasons have given rise to this issue, thus I firmly believe the government could help to tackle the worrisome situation by aforesaid measures.