Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same roads causes some problems. What are the problems and what can be done to reduce them?

The issue of road sharing between cyclists and car drivers has generated much concern among people. Thus it is the aim of this essay to elaborate on the consequences and propose some solutions to tackle the problem.

It is obvious that the matters of sharing the same roads are complicated. Firstly, it is the root cause of several injuries and accidents. In other words, there are many cyclists who do not obey traffic rules while car drivers are turning. Apparently, drivers are unaware of cyclists and would absolutely cause deadly road accidents. Another matter is that road sharing would discourage people from commuting by bike. This directly results in environmental damage and pollution, particularly in urban areas. Take Beijing, which is one of the most polluted cities in the world, as an example, most people participating in Peking University’s survey say that they do not cycle to their workplace due to the fact that cars and bikes have to share the same road, which is definitely inconvenient and unsafe for cyclists.

Accordingly, the solutions to the aforementioned issues should also be varied. First and foremost, governments should divide lanes between cars and bikes. To be more specific, there should be a road constructed solely for cyclists. The Netherlands serve as a perfect example for this solution. Thanks to specialized lanes for bikes, the number of accidents caused by the issue of road sharing have been recorded to decrease significantly. Moreover, since the advent of dividing lanes, Netherlanders are more fascinated to travel by bike. Another proposition is that authorities and national leaders should adopt restrictions on car drivers. More specifically, there should be more road signs such as on speed limits so as to reduce not only the volume of cars on road but also the number of road accidents.

To summarize, several problems are caused by road sharing between cyclists and car drivers. I believe that we should take measures including dividing lanes and enact restrictions on cars to solve those disturbing issues.