The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit.

What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern society, almost everyone know that smoking is dangerous for one's health. Nevertheless, people still continue this bad habit no matter what. There are a few reasons for this and finding solutions to stop smoking altogether is necessary.

To begin with, some people see smoking as the convenient way to cope with stressful factors. Despite knowing how bad smoking is, they just can't help succumbing to their bad habits. Take my father for example. He is a heavy smoker and he always uses smoking as the remedy to fight sleepiness and the constant stress of driving car for long hours. According to him, no matter how hard he tried to quit smoking, he would immediately think about finding a cigarette whenever he is stressed with driving.

In addition to that, smoking has existed with humankind for a very long time and it has caused a circle of influences amongst people of some societies. Korea is the best example for this. It has become such a strange unspoken tradition for Korean white-collar workers to use smoking breaks to discuss important business-related matters. As a result, it is very easy to fall into the trap of smoking while it is extremely hard to quit once the habit has been formed.

In conclusion, though smoking seems to be a very hard habit to break, it must be stopped by all means for a better health and better society at large. Governments can play a very important role in this matter by enforcing the law about smoking. The selling of tobacco should be stopped altogether and heavy fines for smoking should be introduced.