Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, it is a common practice for many countries to take turns in becoming a host for international sports events. Many citizens embrace this occassion as being beneficial for the country while others don't see it in the same light.

On the one hand, sports events that involve worldwide participations also bring along many benefits for the economy of the host country. These benefits come from the increase in the tourism activities as well as the selling of merchandising related to the event. One can easily observe this fact by seeing how flight tickets are sold out quickly and accommodation fees soar high for any period that the international sports event are hosted in a country.

In addition, these sports events not only promote the image of the host country , foster its sportmanship spirit locally and internationally but also help maintain the relationship of the host with other countries worldwide. Take World Cup for example. Thanks to holding this event, The United Kingdom has become wordwide famous for having many legendary football teams such as Manchester United or Liverpool.

On the other hand, some might point out that holding international sport events is a costly and time-consuming process for the host country. To hold such an event, the host has to prepare for years, from building or enhancing its sport facilities to preparing all the marketing and public relation events. All the related costs obviously would create a heavy burden on the taxes that the host country's citizens have to bear.

All in all, there are certainly pros and cons of being the host for international sport events. In my opinion, the advantages of holding these events outweigh the disadvantages. Therefore, I believe becoming the host of these events is beneficial for the country itself and should be continued as a good practice.