The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Smoking proved to be one of many reasons the lungs lost their function, yet the habit of smoking seems to be favorable till today. This essay will give an explanation of this situation.

I think this phenomenon is caused by the substance contained in cigarettes, nicotine is an addictive yet sedative substance that comes from the main ingredient of cigarettes which is tobacco, as the result, smoking is hard to quit even when they tried relapse is a huge possibility. Another reason is some people believe that smoking helps them relax, and bring warmth to their body in low temperatures. In my opinion, there is one other strong factor played in this habit, the triangular connection between tobacco companies, media, and the government that has been engineering this scenario to plant within society. To simplify it, the scheme is the companies provide the product, the media markets it, and the government regulates it accordingly.

In order to reduce the trend of smoking, the government should enforce the regulations that have been around years ago. Whether enforcing it to the smokers or the companies responsible for this habit yet the smokers are the one who makes the money for them or hold more preventative campaign about the danger of smoking can be so the society could be more aware of this devious habit.

To conclude this, raising awareness of this matter is already been done, but the reality is smoking is addictive and I think the tobacco companies, the media, and the government plays a huge role in this area. Yet the one who can solve this problem in my belief is the smoker itself with the healthy supportive environment and the help of other external factors.