Death penalty is the best way to control and reduce serious crime. To what extent do you agree?

There is a controversial view held among people whether execution should be applied to criminals. While I agree that there are some negative aspects of this measure, I still believe that death penalty acts as a stimulus to reduce criminal offenses.

On the one hand, death sentence can be considered unsuitable punishment for several rationales. The strongest argument is that once execution is applied, society seems to be brutalized, which unsurprisingly increases violent crimes and even homicides as the governments dismiss respect for life. Besides, there is enormous evidence showed that capital punishment is the most exorbitant penalty, which undeniably wastes national budgets. For instance, in Vietnam, death row inmates will be executed by three lethal injections, which recently is reported that cost more than a hundred million dongs for each injection.

However, death sentence undoubtedly serves as a deterrent, which is an efficient method to equilibrium society’s justice. First, a threat of being executed in the future would act as a hindrance to refrain a person from committing a crime. Recent research indicated that ever since capital punishment is abided by many countries’ governments, the rate of felons has been experienced a significant decrease. Second, it can be claimed that capital punishment is only given to inmates who commit heinous crimes such as homicide or sexual offenses, which undoubtedly are contrary to moral and ethical codes of humanity. Therefore, is there any chance to ensure that wrongdoers will not continue to trespass against the law and pose a menace to city dwellers during their rehabilitation?

In conclusion, although capital punishment might have some disadvantages, I still believe that it is the best possible way to help curb violent and serious crimes.