Despite better access to education, many adults today still can not read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them?

The advance facility of education cannot guarantee human capability in todays’ world. There is still plethora of adults lack of literacy. This essay will outline the consequences of this problem as well as the way to resolve it.

First of all, one of the detrimental demerits is that inability to read and write poses a significant challenge to human skill development inducing lower self-esteem. Frontiers in Psychology presents that such incapability shapes them full of unworthy of love and respect that might be afraid them to engage in social activities. Furthermore, the limited access of information can be afforded by illiterate individuals troubled them to find wider job opportunities as happened in South Sudan. According to UNESCO, along with intergenerational poverty, complex job requirements, as well as a comprehension of data processing and use, restrict them from being trusted to execute a variety of activities.

Regarding the aforementioned results, a remarkable solution can be implemented through national innovative programme for youth and adults to achieve greater human ability. Towards the utilization of information and communication technology, the government of Senegal provides middle age group with carrying out reading comprehension and involving practical sessions on income-generating activities to accelerate citizen well-being. Moreover, training program to greater parental presence up-bring people’s reading habits to support cognitive development. It is evident that Japanese care givers support home literacy environment to cultivate individuals’ curiosity showing impressive outcomes on their academic performance.

To sum up, adults’ illiterateness impacting their lives reveal several remarkable negatives including self-insecurity and poor of career path. However, this can be tackled by government program through reading courses and parental coaching.