In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In this day and age, there is a considerable increase in the age of people. From my perspective, it extremely affects the government and the public and possibly will be recommended in the following essay.

On the one hand, it exists several obvious issues to rise in the number of people living longer. Firstly, the government budget will be deficit significantly to pay the pension. The government budget comes mostly from tax, which takes in a piece of the worker income. However, the proportion of younger, working adults will be smaller, who are paying the tax, than the elderly resident receiving the pension. Additionally, living longer due to several health problems. The state has special policy for the elderly population. They are checked up health without payment, which leads to waste of facilities and staff. For example, the report of Bach Mai hospital shows that the number of population aging accounts to 40% of patients in their hospital.

In order to address the aforementioned issues, a variety of actions can be taken. The first measure is changing the retirement policy such as adding more time working, considering the pension. To illustrate, in Vietnam, the government has changed the time of retirement from 60 to 65 for men and from 55 to 60 for women, which helps them reduce the budget deficit. Another efficacious way is having a new rule in the medical field. The state should require the old cohorts to pay a fee for each stay at the hospital and should check up their health once or twice per year.

In conclusion, living longer can be ascribed to main reasons which are the effect of the government budget and waste of facilities and staff, and this issue can be dealt with by changing some policies.