In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impacts of ageing populations.

In the contemporary world, the life expectancy of many countries is rising significantly. There are several impacts of this increasing rate on people and society, and some effective solutions should be proposed to tackle this problem.

To begin with, the increasing life expectancy is likely to lead to some effects on individuals and society. Firstly, as most people need to take care of their elderly parents, they might have not enough time for their nuclear family. For example, couples who have many children are likely to need to work hard to cover their accommodation expense, and they might lose their job when they need to look after their parents. Secondly, people living longer would cause a burden on society. To be specific, since elder people are likely to have illness frequently, healthcare service might not be able to serve all residents.

Several actions need to be taken to address aging populations. The first solution would be for individuals to work longer and retire later. By doing this, people can save much more money to prepare for their retirement life. Additionally, the authorities should impose more appropriate labor legislation to extend the working time of workers. For instance, the retirement ages of some European countries are under 60, so many social and economic experts proposed to raise the retirement ages by 2 to 5 years in 2020.

In conclusion, some impacts might be caused by the high life expectancy, and the government and individuals should come up early with solutions to this problem.