It is important for all towns and cities to have large public spaces such as squares and parks. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people say that large public spaces such as squares and parks are important to all urban areas. While it true that cities and towns should have those spaces, I disagree with the idea that it is crucial to all urban places.

To begin with, public locations such as parks or squares bring various advantages to cities and towns. Firstly, local residents need to relax after work or at weekends, and those places are good for them to do such things. For example, in Japan, people usually go to the park for one-day picnics with their families and friends. Secondly, those places have spaces for planting trees, which contributes to environmental protection. If cities do not have such places, the air there would not be fresh.

However, I do not think that large public spaces are needed to be constructed in all urban areas. First, some towns do not have enough houses for their citizens so they need to have more residential buildings or apartments instead of parks or squares. For instance, an Indonesian small town called Bandung does not have any big parks, and its people are in need of resident places. Furthermore, since building parks or squares costs a great amount of money, governments should save money to invest in more important public services such as healthcare or education. For example, most of the cities of Haiti do not have well-constructed public places, but the biggest problem that they are facing is low life expectancy due to lack of hospitals.

In conclusion, while large public areas bring many benefits, I would argue that those places are not important to all urban areas.