In some countries, the number of people choosing to live by themselves is increasing rapidly in recent years. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

In some parts of the world, many people have been increasingly deciding to live alone recently. This trend happens because of some reasons, and I believe that this development has several drawbacks.

To begin with, there are some factors leading to the fact that many people want to live by themselves. The first cause could be that they are too busy at work, which is likely to lead to a lack of time for themselves. As a result, they do not want to live with their family as they are likely to be afraid of having not enough time for family members of theirs. Additionally, many people do not start their own family due to financial burdens. For example, in Tokyo, accommodation fees are extremely high to almost its citizens, and many parents can not afford to send their children to school.

Besides, there are many reasons why the trend of living alone brings some disadvantages. First, as many people do not want to get married, society might face aging-population problems. For instance, as the number of elderly Japanese are rising, this country is lack of workforce. Furthermore, people could have plenty of difficulties when they get older as no one takes care of them. For example, elderly people usually suffer many illnesses when they get old, and they would feel lonely when doing it without having relatives by their sides.

In conclusion, many people are choosing to live by themselves due to several causes, and it seems to me that this tendency is a negative development.