Nowadays, more and more people want to travel to remote areas such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this type of travel outweigh the disadvantages?

More and more people are interested in going to places which are not yet discovered much such as the Poles. While this trend has several drawbacks, I still believe it brings more benefits.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why people claim that going to long-distance areas is a bad idea. Firstly, as it is not easy to get to those places due to undeveloped transportation, people might have accidents on the way. For example, people need to go by boat for a few days to reach the South Pole from the US, therefore they might be in need of food and water if the boat is broken. Secondly, people are likely to pay a great amount of money for the trip because there are only a few expensive tours for wealthy people at the moment. As a result, passengers on the trip might need to spend all of their saving and have not enough money for paying their accommodation fees after finishing the trip.

On the other hand, I support the view that traveling to remote places brings numerous advantages. First, this kind of tour brings great feeling to the tourists, which helps them release stresses and create more exciting moments in their life. If people travel to familiar places only, they might find it boring as they are not different from their country and they can visit those places through videos and newspapers. Furthermore, exploring new locations which are still not yet well-known could encourage people to contribute to its development. For instance, after going to the North Pole, an American billionaire decided to build a small town there in the 2000s.

In conclusion, while traveling to remote destinations has its own disadvantages, I am of the opinion that this is a positive development.