With development of media online, there is no future for radio.

Amidst of technological advancement in mobile and internet, debate whether radio will be extinct or not is quiet relevant. As a result, many experts in this field claim that we will never see radio being used as means of communication in future. I mostly agree with this contention and argue that radio is likely to be extinct with some condition that internet technology should be universal and their quality should be standard enough to replace radio as major source of communication in some parts of world.

Admittedly, in some scenarios, radio has still remained best way of communication despite rise in mass media and internet. Particularly in poor countries, such as African and some of Asian nations, the source of entertainment and communication has been radio because infrastructure has not been developed in these countries to sustain TV and internet medium. As people are meager, they are unable to invest in technological gadgets which enables them to access internet. So, being cheapest medium for them, radio has dominated in these countries. However, if quality of life of these public can be improved then it is possible that mobile and laptop supercede radio as major device for the communication.

However, in most of the cases, internet and mass media has made radio non-existence as all the functions of radio are already present online. Not only this, there are additional features which radio fails to provide. For instance, the people who used radio for listening news now opt youtube and online portal as they have many many additional features which people can enjoy. Likewise, people who used radio for listening music now choose mobile internet or youtube because they can actually listen as well as watch the video. This feature is not present in radio. Additional features allure consumers to select internet contents rather than radio.

In conclusion, the topic is debatable and there are no easy answers what future holds for radio. However, analysing logically, radio will cease to exist if quality of internet is improved all over the world. With current advancement it seems likely to happen. This is because all the positive aspects of radio like news broadcast, podcasts and music are present in internet with additional facilities which is most likely cause that radio becomes, at best, superfluous and, at worst, extinct.