Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently while others considered they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

What should be criteria for considering any candidate to be fit for any job or task? Should innovative skill be made main criteria for selection or team work? These questions are subject of moot. Most experts believe that, in today’s advancements in science and technology, ability to invent new discoveries should be made obligatory and most important criteria for any vacant post. However, I refrain to support this too extreme argument and, instead, contend that best criteria for choosing any candidate is contingent upon the field company is related rather than categorically deciding aforementioned criteria to be “best” for the company.

In most cases and types of company we are dealing with, the best way of recruiting employee will be to prioritize team work skills and obedience as a major criteria of the candidates. It includes professional fields such as management, engineering, medical science and infrastructure projects where one’s task cannot be completed with help of other and, is contingent upon progress of others within same department. In other words, their tasks are intertwined and each department within a company overlap and depends upon other to achieve overall objectives. Let us take example of a hydropower company where there are different departments: Civil Engineering department, mechanical department, electrical department and admin department. The task carried out by a civil engineer working on power house design must rely on work of mechanical engineer as his task can only be completed after completion of hydromechanical design. This is not limited to Civil engineering field. In infrastructure projects, construction workers depend upon electrician for lightning, labour who place concrete upon a mechanic for welding steel during construction and construction manager upon site engineer to produce contractor bill. So, a person who work autonomously without requiring help from other can actually become headwind for overall objectives and progress of any institution. So, in these cases, it is better to choose the candidate who can work in unanimous working environment rather than those who work individually.

However, in some cases, innovative and individual skill outweigh obedience and team work. In these type of fields, the work of one employee does not overlap with other. These types of field are research and development, software development field and education. For instance, let us consider teaching field. A science teacher do not require assistance of others to teach his material. Similarly, in research field, it requires individual to discover new findings. Furthermore, in software development field, there are separate departments working individually like web development area do not interfere with android developers. In holistic sense, these fields may require team work within their own department but in most of the cases task can be easily achieved working without help of others.

In conclusion, the subject matter is moot and there are no easy answers. While most of experts in this matter endorse innovation and independent as major prerequisites to choose any candidate, I, however, contend that, in most of the cases, team work skill and obedience outweigh by far more than those supported by many as most of the field known to mankind requires each other to work in a team to achieve any task given. I also contend that there are some fields where innovation skill should be made prime consideration while selecting any employee. In other words, it depends upon type of company the context is related.