Developments in technology has brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that breakthroughs and innovations in technology contribute to different environmental problems. While some people argue that a simpler life is necessary to measure issues of the environment, I believe that using technology is the better way to deal with these problems.

On the one hand, when people live in a simple way, their demand for natural resources would be minimised as a certain result. For example, if workers commute from their home to their workplace by walking or cycling, the chances are exploiting oil or gas for private vehicles seems unnecessary. Similarly, if individuals get rid of their sedentary lifestyle such as watching TV for persistency hours and switch to participate in outdoor activities, electricity sources supplied for residential areas might be reduced to the basic level. As the use of natural resources declines, the fall of industrial wastes which are released by the process of consuming and exploiting are inevitable. These advantages of simplifying the life, therefore, would have dramatically positive impacts on the environment.

However, I am convinced that technology proves to be more effective in measuring environmental issues than other ways. The advancements in science areas will encourage people to use renewable power sources, such as solar energy or wind energy, instead of using traditional resources. Since the developments succeeded, they are more likely to be mass-produced to reduce the costs and raise the ability of competition in the market. Clean energies, as the result, would become popular and gradually replace the non-renewable resources. In other words, developing technology also help people to find sustainable sources and limit negative influences that old sources bring out without depleting human's basic needs.

In conclusion, although the reasons for adopting a simpler life are justifiable, I argue that using technology is a better choice to tackle with environmental issues but still meet the human's needs for energy.