Children are now less active in their free time than in the past. Therefore, sports lessons must be compulsory in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the development of Internet makes children become more sedentary than in the past. They like to play video games or watch Youtube video more than to play outside. So, schools want to add sports lessons and make them compulsory in the curriculum. In my point of view, I agree with this idea and I will explain why in this essay.

Some people believe that sports lessons are a waste of valuable study time. However, in reality, physical activity improve children's mental well-being. Learning exercise helps children be more active, better blood circulation after a long period of sitting still in the classroom. Moreover, outdoor activities give children the opportunity to breathe fresh air, refresh their mind, while also reducing the pressure in the stressful study process to study later classes more effectively. In my opinion, it is not a good idea to sit still and gain knowledge all the time, we have to give the children time to be outside to relax and recharge energy so that thay can learn better.

Another reason is that sports help children learn discipline and working with others as a team. Solidarity in an important requirement in sports. The players need to know how to work with others to win. It is equally important that in a learning environment, children need to know how to work together to solve problems. When learning to exercise, they are trained to practise sociability and respecting their team mates at the same time. This help better their personality and their friendship.

In sum up, I totally agree adding sports lessons as a compulsory subject in school is a good idea. I believe that physical activities surely help develop our children not only physically but also spiritually.