Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museum is a place to keep and conserve the historical values as archives of a country or a nation. These values attract million of visitor, especially tourist to come to enjoy and learn about the history or the secret behind it. Nowadays, many museums require charging for visiting admission while other museums keep it free. People enquire about how good and bad when they decide to get admission charging. Their decision has both sides, however, I think that advantages of this matter occupy the majority because of some reasons.

On the one hand, charging brings several benefits for not only museum but also for visitors. The museum use this income firstly for preserving and restoring articles. These works are very important because some articles may exist for thousand years. In reality, some museums lose their customers for the reason that they cannot keep the articles look like at first. Besides, they also use this amount of money for paying salary for their employees and paying taxes for government. Thank to visitors facility fee, employees salary can be increased, which give them motivation to do their job better. For people who need to pay fee, I believe that they have responsibility with that amount of money. Therefore, they will give more respect and give their whole mind to the articles to deserve of the charge.

On the other hand, every matter has two sides, there are some drawbacks with admission charge. First big problem is that it can decrease quantity of visitors who want to visit free. As they just have little interest in these articles, if the museum demand no fee, they will have chance to increase their knowledge. Furthermore, some museums demand too high price for charge so that even visitors who are willing to pay fee for admission, they will become hesitant or unpleasant because they think that this is unnecessary. Another problem may rise when some people include elder people and pupils who do not have ability to make their own money to pay for fee want to visit museum. They absolutely can ask for their relatives or parents, however, if one person need to pay for some people, the amount of money becomes high and they may change their decision.

In conclusion, although disadvantages of museum admission charge has still existed, I cannot deny that the advantages outweigh the drawbacks. Museum is a cultural and historical space for everyone to enjoy with the articles. The responsibility in contribution for conservation and development of museum also lies with visitors, therefore, in my opinion, paying facility fee is a good way to show their courage and construction to the museum.